Easter Vigil
Easter Vigil

The liturgy of the Church revolves around the sacraments. Jesus entrusted seven sacraments to the Church: Baptism, the Eucharist, Reconciliation, Confirmation, Marriage, the Sacrament of the Sick and Holy Orders.

Each of these sacraments is an efficacious sign in which we receive the grace and divine life of God through the work of the Holy Spirit. Through the sacraments, especially baptism and the Eucharist, Jesus fulfills his promise to us:

“Remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” -Mt 28:20


For Catholics, the Sacrament of Baptism is the first step in a lifelong journey of commitment and discipleship. Whether we are baptized as infants or adults, Baptism is the Church’s way of celebrating and enacting the embrace of God.    Read More…


Catholics believe the Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.    Read More…


The Catholic Sacrament of Reconciliation (also known as the Sacrament of Penance, or Penance and Reconciliation) has three elements: conversion, confession and celebration. In it we find God’s unconditional forgiveness, and as a result we are called to forgive others.    Read More…


Confirmation is a Catholic sacrament of mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. Like Baptism and Eucharist, it is a Sacrament of Initiation for Catholics and a Sacrament of faith in God’s fidelity to us.    Read More…


For Catholics, the Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also God’s values.    Read more…

Anointing of the Sick

The Catholic sacrament of Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Last Rites or Extreme Unction, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness.    Read more…

Holy Orders

All Catholics by their baptism belong to the common priesthood of the faithful. However, some men are called by Christ to the ordained priesthood.

More Information: